A Day in the Life: Social Distancing with Kellie-Anne

Hello all!

My name is Kellie-Anne Poirier and I’m a 17-year-old singer-songwriter from Canada! I’m honored to be writing up this cool interview during this very unique time, so here it goes.

My daily routine has definitely changed over the past two weeks but I have still been trying to keep myself busy and entertained. On a usual weekday I wake up at around 8:10, which is really nice considering I usually have to wake up at 7:00 for school. My first class is at 8:30, where my class meets up online for an online class! I usually set up my desk when I wake up and get everything ready for school. After my first class, I usually have a break, where I make breakfast and of course, coffee. My mom and I recently got our very own espresso machine and we have been completely OBSESSED. I usually make myself a latté with cashew milk and French vanilla syrup. Absolutely delicious!! Afterwards I continue to attend my online classes until about 2:30. I try to get all of my work done during the school day, therefore I have time during the afternoon to take it more easy and focus on other things. I usually like to go and walk my dog after school and talk to my family for a bit. 

On sunny days I really enjoy chilling outside on my balcony and reading or journaling. Some of the things I do after school include singing, writing music, reading, watching Netflix, FaceTiming my friends, making tik toks (I know I know kinda embarrassing haha) and going on walks with my dog (who has been loving this time where his family is absolutely all over him and walking him all the time XD). After a few hours of trying to keep myself busy, my family and I usually reunite and have dinner together. With everyone being stuck at home, my family and I have definitely been able to spend a lot more quality time together and it has been nice. We haven’t gotten on each other's nerves yet haha. We love to play games after dinner and watch movies or TV. I have been watching American Horror Story with my brother and we have been loving it!

That is overall what I do during my days of quarantine. Although it has been very different and I have had to adapt, I consider myself very lucky to be with my incredible family, safe and sound in my home. I encourage you all to stay at home as much as possible. As a very extroverted and social person, I understand how difficult that can be. Take this time to focus on yourself and work on things you usually wouldn’t be working on. I encourage you to still go outside and enjoy the outdoors. Seeing friends and family is important, however remember to stay safe and six feet apart ;). Thank you so much for this opportunity and I hope everyone is still having fun despite this global struggle.

While practicing social distancing, check out my latest music video for "Legacy":